Email Address Password
Login Help              Forgot password?

Award Programs 2015

Awards Logo

ONLINE Awards Program

GWA Media Awards 2015 Call for Entries
Opens January 14, 2015

PDFDownload the 2015 Awards flyer
PDFView Categories
PDF How To Enter

The Garden Writers Association is pleased to continue its latest modern­ization of the Garden Media Awards Program using an online entry and judging process. We believe this is the only national online media awards contest for the Gardening Communications Industry. GWA will be awarding the prestigious GWA Garden Media Awards to the top professional commu­nicators in the lawn & garden genre. All works primarily focused on garden­ing are eligible and may be submitted by individuals or publishers that are GWA members or non-members.

For more than 20 years, the Garden Writers Association has conducted an annual awards program. Originally the Quill & Trowel Awards, the program expanded into the current GWA Garden Media Awards. Throughout its evolution, the GWA awards program has maintained its primary goal of providing public recognition for excellence in gardening-related communica­tions in all media.

Although book and some photo entries still may be submitted in original published form via mail or courier, all other award entries are now being accepted in electronic format.

Only works first published and copyrighted between January 1, 2014, and December 31, 2014, are eligible for entry. The official copyright date will be the eligibility determinant. You do not need to be a GWA member to enter. Any writer, editor, publisher, producer, etc., may enter. Fees will be based upon the membership status of the award recipient only. Judges and committee members are not eligible to enter. GWA reserves the right to de­termine an entry ineligible if it is inconsistent with the goals and objectives of the organization.

All entries must be received no later than March 31, 2015. Late entries will not be accepted.

A jury of professionals, selected for their experience, expertise and genre perspective, will be assembled to evaluate all entries. Judges may not submit entries of their own work.

Awards will be given at two levels: Silver Awards of Achievement and Gold Awards for Best Talent or Best Product, representing the best of each artistic category (writing, photography, etc.) and the best of each product (book, magazine, etc.). Silver Awards will be announced in July 2015. Winning entries will be displayed at the GWA Annual Symposium and awards will be presented during the Annual Awards Banquet. The Gold Awards will be unveiled during the 67th Garden Writers Associa­tion Awards Banquet in Pasadena, CA.

2015 Awards Chair: Deb Wiley


Honors Program

GWA Media Awards
  2015 Awards

  Previous Years

7809 FM 179, Shallowater, TX 79363 Tel: 806.832.1870  Fax: 806.832.5244
Copyright © 2015 Garden Writers Association
Bookmark and Share